Hamezi PDF Print E-mail

Hamezi is a village of the district of Sitia and lies at a 10km dinstance from Sitia city on the axis of the traditional street of Sitia-Iraklio. It's built on the hills of the small mountain range of "Tripokefala" which lie at 400m altitude. When you're here your eye sight the horizon which lies extensively enough from the other side mountains to the Karpathian high sea. Every morning, through the morning clean atmosphere you can see Kasos and Karpathos like two pieces which were seperated from cape "Sideros" and were thrown away from the high sea.

From Sitia, it's easy to see Hamezi which is like a large drawing board having all these absolutely white small houses drowned inside the green background that the olive trees create behind it. The traditions, its history and the resident's hospitality make it very special, and it's one ot the few villages which show such samples of civilization.

Historic Archeological Elements
Hamezi became mostly famous from the great archaeological discoveries, which were found in its area. On its hill, which is opposite the village known as "Souvloto Mouri"(Pointed face) lies the unique elliptic house of the Minoan time (MMI) which is considered to be from the archaeologists one of the most important remnants of the Minoan civilization.

In the Hamezi area lies an important Enetic monument of the district of Sitia, THE CASTLE OF LIOPETRO. This castle is built on an isolated and craggy height at the area 'Fatsi' an area with a remarkably wild beauty and a unique view in every direction. Several indications make the experts believe that it was built on foundations of an older ancient castle having its water tank still preserved. the castle was built from the Enetics to face the Turkish danger and for transferring the Sitia residents to it in case of danger since the castle of 'Kazarma' in Sitia had proved to be inadequate for safety, and Sitia had been characterized as an "Unfortified City". In the year 1759 the providence lakovos Foskarikis recommended to the faculty the erection of that castle to transfer to it the Sitia residents in case of a war against the Turks. This proposal wasn't approved. After a while Petros Zanos came into the same matter in 1590 and SCOTTI in 1595 and finally the faculty accepted the proposal and its erection started at the beginning of the 17th century. The castle was built and it was very large since it could fit 6.000 persons, only that it was never used for the purpose that it was made for, since the residents of Sitia were finally transferred to 'Handrakas'.The castle's name came from the union of the words: LEON DI PETRA which mean: The lion of the stone. Today, from this great castle, you can only see pieces of the outer wall and many water tanks.

In the position 'Linares' at the beach close to the small church of St. John the 'Rigologos' was found a constructed rectangler grave in the year 1971 of the MM season which belong to the so called type of the bone-keeping place since inside its two rooms were found bones laid down which belonged to dozens of dead people. In the two rooms someone could go in from above. Among all the discoveries, a cylindrical stamp was found which was made of ivory and a pot of steatite. In the same year and in the position 'Fatsi' close to the castle of 'Liopetro' five small square vaulted graves were found from the Sub Minoan and the first Geometrical time. Among the important buildings, were also found: Stamp stones, a copper manual with a handle made of ivory, necklaces e.t.c.

Folkoral Elements
Hamezi has a long tradition in music, dancing and hospitality which are luckily being preserved until today. Amusements and companies are still occurring, especially in the 'Magatzedes', a custom which is flourishing in Hamezi, since many 'Magatzedes' exist scattered all over its district, and all equipped with the stepping machines, the boilers, the threshing floors e.t.c. Also in the many small monasteries (small churches to honor several saints that lie outside of the village in farming areas) that scattered all over the district, many famous festivals are being organized in the celebration of the saints. All of them are clean and well preserved and show the deep Christian faith of the villagers. Besides, Hamezi was always a Christian village since in the 1834 census it's reported that it had 20 Christian families and 4 Ottomanic, while in the 1881 census, 72 Christian families with 313 members and only one Ottomanic with 6 members.