A village and an ex-community of the district of Sitia, lies in the Northwest of Sitia city, at an altitude of 583m. It has 508 residents, who keep themselves occupied by producing olive oil, raisins, wine and with the cultivation of some gardening products. About where its name came from, there are many acceptations.
According to one of them, it comes from the verb stoop down (bend) because it has an inclination as if it's bending. According to a second acceptation, its name came from a derivative of the adjective's "maglinos", which in the local dialect means thin and tall, an adjective that had been given to St. George, the protector of the village. But, it seems, that the most believed acceptation, is the one that supports that the name is owed to the family name of two brothers, who lived in Mouliana and had an Enetic origin. One of them installed in this position and the village was named Exo Mouliana, while the other one installed in the position where the village Mesa Mouliana is now built.
It's reported in the census of the "castle keeper" as S. Zorgi Mugliana and had 291 residents. So it's first name was St. George, a name that came from a St. George's church which is being preserved until today and in this holy place many wall painting's left-overs are being saved. According to a report of Gerolas, the following writing was on the south wall "The sulphur and the omniscient temple of the glorious great martyr and the triumphant St. George has been built by expenses and labour and toil of the most honourable priests: Mr. John and Mr. Manolis of Haro of Kourito(s)...Mr. Leon of Ko... children of the present kingdom and John and the associated Christmas and those who are included in the village called Mouliana.
In honour of the kingdom of the most respected kings of John and the mother's of its patience nun. At the time of s.e Amen. Without a doubt it's written from the Byzantine emperor John C Palaiologos (1425-1448). In the Turkish period many Turks had installated at the village. Many slaughters of Christians have occured here also. When the Turks started to leave the great island, the Christians of the area by giving reprisals for all those who had suffered they killed many of them in the place called "Tsikalario". In a sea-side area lies the cave of "Halkomatas" (Halkoma=A big caldron where you can boil milk).
Inside that cave the residents of the village used to hide during the invasions of the enemies, their precious objects, putting them in a copper utensil, which they buried deep inside the earth. According to popular narrations, before the second world war went tufty a French group who were visiting the village, went to the area of the cave, where they found the copper utensil with the precious treasure in it, they took it with them and they abandoned the area.
Besides the old church of St. George, which was reported above, at the village there are also the churches: St. Nikitas (aged from 1770), Lord Christi, St. Marina, Michael Archangel, St. Paraskevi, St. Theodoros, Prophet Ilias (In this area many Enetic ruins and water tanks are being saved, the new cathedrical temple of St. George and St. Mary which is at the cemetery.